Cyclofun 2017

Cyclofun 2017 is an event organised by the NE Fife Rotary clubs.  It is centered around Tayport FC ground and is a family event with led rides, stalls, cycle obstacle course and kids races.

I took the train from Kirkcaldy to Leuchars the nearest station to St Andrews and home of an ex RAF station now occupied by the army.

It was a short cycle to Tayport on NCN 1 and quiet country roads.  The event started at 1100 and although some setting up was still being done it was busy when I arrived at 1120.  I spoke to the organiser and several of the stall holders and dropped some business cards off whilst I waited for others to arrive so I could assist with the kids races which were due off at 2pm.

We set a course up, just a short lap and started registering riders a small field for both races but the kids enjoyed it and who knows there might be a budding start or two in the field.

After the races were done and the course tidiedup I headed back to Kirkcaldy backtracking at first then heading out towards Ceres on my way to Leven to see Carol and then eventually home.  A good cycle just over 30 miles on the Tour de Fer.  Much better then driving it rally is #betterbybike.

 

Author: Jim Taylor

I am a 58 year old Scottish endurance athlete. I run, bike, walk and race. I have taken outdoor qualifications and coach others. I am the owner of and guide for Scottish bike touring.

Leave a Reply

