SBT January Blog

I hope you have had a good festive season and are looking forward to getting out on your bike for some tours in the coming months.

What have I been up to since the end of the “season”?  After a few hard months on the road I gave my bikes some TLC.  Removed chains and cassettes, renewed handlebar tape, checked tyres and pressures and brakes.  The difference was amazing no more clunky changing a fresh look and feel to the bars and reliable stopping power!  I was still riding them and taking part in other activities to avoid starting the new season suffering from the Ullrich effect.  Off the bike I was attending yoga and pilates classes and running occasionally.

The website got a new look and I was posting on the facebook almost every day.  Tours are no longer listed by date rather the client picks the day and date, gets in touch with me and I will either confirm or suggest alternatives.

I put some advertising in place on Facebook and in Cycle magazine.  This has resulted in a booking for the Island Adventure tour.  A favourite of mine!

I have also been experimenting with some new dishes and snacks.  I have found the basis for the recipes on the internet or in books then just tweaked them a little to suit my taste or the produce available.  The first recipes will be in the February edition.

This years plans are beginning to take shape and some will be finalised when the Calmac timetable is released.  Keep your eye on FB and the website for new tours this year and for old favourites.

SBT is hoping to be at the Edinburgh Festival of Cycling in 2017 with a new “mystery” ride on offer.

 

That’s all for this first edition of the monthly blog.

 

 

Author: Jim Taylor

I am a 58 year old Scottish endurance athlete. I run, bike, walk and race. I have taken outdoor qualifications and coach others. I am the owner of and guide for Scottish bike touring.

Leave a Reply

