Great Glen Way Day 2

After a light breakfast of cereal and toast, the obligatory pot of tea and one of the hosts coffees I was on my way.  I followed the remainder of the Invergarry loop a higher route which brings you out at the Bridge of Oich.


From Bridge of Oich to Fort Augustus the going  is easy and mainly along the canal tow path.   Once you reach Fort Augustus that is the last you will see of the Caledonian Canal till Inverness.

After. a small refreshment in Fort Augustus and a halt to watch boats in the lock I headed off again and almost immediately started to climb. The path now is mainly on undulating forest path with views through the trees of Loch Ness.  The tracks were good the climbs hard and the descents exhilarating I stopped often for views of the loch and the surrounding countryside.  The Way had been busy with walkers but I had not seen many bikers when just outside. Invermoriston I spied a flash of day-glo top and came down a descent and nearly into four women cyclists who were making thier way rather gingerly down the descent.  I stopped at Invermoriston to check the facilities available there and have some lunch and the four came past me on the road and followed the signs for the GGW in the book it says that ther is a climb of 560 feet in less than a mile this must have proved too much for the ladies as about 5 minutes later they came past again on the road !

If hills are graded 1-10. The hill out of Invermoriston would be a shahoorsirthatwassteep!  It continued like that for the rest of the way to Drumnadrochit. some great single track  unfortunately there was also some gates which needed  opening!

  The GGW puts the wild and Ness in wilderness.

Stats 30 miles, 3913 feet climbed in 4h. 

Author: Jim Taylor

I am a 58 year old Scottish endurance athlete. I run, bike, walk and race. I have taken outdoor qualifications and coach others. I am the owner of and guide for Scottish bike touring.

Leave a Reply

