Day 8 EdFoC

As I pedalled down the Royal Mile in the worsening rain I held little hope that the expected rider, Alice, would turn up for today’s Innocent Railway and Pentlands tour.  I was really surprised when not 1 but 2 riders approached me to go on the tour.  After introductions we set off on the road to the cycle path through Holyrood park and towards Innocent Tunnel.

Although wet there was no wind and the air temp was mild so the day could have been worse.  We set out at quite a pace and in no time were using the Facilities in a Dalkeith café and tucking into hot drinks and some food.  After a brief dry out we set off again, a little easier pace through Dalkeith and out towards Auchendinny and Glencorse.

Coming down the cycle path by the A702 Alice took a little spill but was up in no time and pedalling towards Flotterstone and the Pentlands Park.

When we approached Maidens Cleugh it was evident that the rain had taken a toll on the path and we decided to walk up to the summit.  The descent was taken carefully as was the road down into Currie.

The rain had now stopped and the temperature gauge at the counter at the canal basin informed us that it was 15 degrees!  I left two wet, muddy and happy ladies by the quayside as I headed to Haymarket for my train to Kirkcaldy.

Author: Jim Taylor

I am a 58 year old Scottish endurance athlete. I run, bike, walk and race. I have taken outdoor qualifications and coach others. I am the owner of and guide for Scottish bike touring.

Leave a Reply

