The way forward?

With social media one would think that advertising is sorted-Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and others.  Professional networks such as Linked in.

I spent Saturday at LBS, Leslie Bike Shop, as it happens my Local Bike Shop of choice.  Andy Hain the owner had thrown the doors open and had an amazing array of deals on offer.  I had asked if it was OK for me to turn up and wander around in my SBT sweat shirt touting for business.  The shop was open from 9-5.  I got on my bike and headed to the shop arriving at 9:30 to an already buzzing compound.

Leaving some leaflets on the shop counter and in the smallest room I began to wander around the compound and shop talking about the tours and cycling in general, the big advantage over social media of course the interaction, immediate response and the body language of direct conversation beating social media hands down.

So what is the way forward social media due to the reach available or one on one conversation?

I think for new businesses it is a mix of both.  Spreading the word on the ground locally to like minded individuals and local clubs but also getting the word out to a wider audience which might also be interested in doing business.

Author: Jim Taylor

I am a 58 year old Scottish endurance athlete. I run, bike, walk and race. I have taken outdoor qualifications and coach others. I am the owner of and guide for Scottish bike touring.

Leave a Reply

