SBT at Scottish Cycling Running and Outdoor Pursuits show

SCROPS is at the SECC Glasgow and runs over three days.  I decided to take myself through on the Saturday.  So kitted out in the Company hoody and with a bag full of contact sheets I headed for Weegieland on the 9:14 from my home town of Kirkcaldy.  There is a station right a the SECC which is nice and handy and the journey from my home town takes just over two hours with two changes and a wee walk between Glasgow’s two mainline stations.  There were demonstrators outside the venue making a noise about fracking aimed at the SNP conference which was also on at the SECC.

I bought my ticket, £15 and made my way into hall 4 and a hubbub of noise.  As well as exhibitors and speakers there were a few activities and that was what was creating the noise.  There was an indoor running straight and two bike courses laid out as well as that various exhibitors had races or challenges on involving indoor exercise equipment.

My SBT hoody attracted a few comments and started some conversations which was exactly what I was hoping for.  I also distributed sheets with contact details around the hall which hopefully will generate some custom.  As normal with these types of exhibitions there were a load of freebies to grab and information leaflets to peruse.  I picked up a lot of both and also got a summer timetable for Calmac ferries.

I caught Mark Beaumonts talk and Q&A session which was very interesting. 

   A very enjoyable day out and if business picks up I would consider going there next year as an exhibitor.

Author: Jim Taylor

I am a 58 year old Scottish endurance athlete. I run, bike, walk and race. I have taken outdoor qualifications and coach others. I am the owner of and guide for Scottish bike touring.

Leave a Reply

