Recce of John Muir Way

I have long wanted to do the JMW not the American one but the C2C route in Scotland.  Born in Dunbar John Muir (1838-1914) left Scotland in 1849 for America.  If it hadn’t been for an accident which blinded the young Muir we may not have had the JMT or JMW he was so happy to regain his sight that he decided to follow his dreams and the rest as they say is history!

Bikeable in four days (134 miles) with B & B’s and rail stations all along the route it is one of the longer trips I intend offering to clients.  I start my recce next Friday and although the traditional direction would be West to East I have decided at least on this occasion to go East to West and will be doing the Dunbar to Edinburgh stretch.   Watch this blog for news of how it went.

If you, or anyone you know, are considering touring in Scotland get in touch.  Please follow and share this blog for an insight to my tours and to Scotland.

Author: Jim Taylor

I am a 58 year old Scottish endurance athlete. I run, bike, walk and race. I have taken outdoor qualifications and coach others. I am the owner of and guide for Scottish bike touring.

Leave a Reply

